Home > Barguna > Awami League nominates ex-BCL leader

Awami League nominates ex-BCL leader

The Awami League has nominated former Bangladesh Chhatra League leader Hasan Imam Khan Sohel Hazari to contest the Tangail-4 by-election.
Print Friendly and PDF

Deputy Office Secretary Mrinal Kanti Das informed the media of the decision after Thursday’s Awami League Parliamentary Board meeting.

Former BCL organising secretary Hazari is also the former Kalihati Upazila chairman.

The Tangail-4 constituency fell vacant after five-time MP Abdul Latif Siddique stepped down last month.

Siddique’s anti-Hajj rant saw him lose his Cabinet berth and later being thrown out of the Awami League.

His brother and decorated freedom fighter Abdul Kader Siddiqui has hinted at joining the fray scheduled for Nov 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *